Photo Series: Through The Lakey Lens

Introduction

“Why am I here?” you’re probably wondering. 

“Because I have nothing better to do,” you answer back to yourself. (You should probably quit doing that, the Kermit meme is getting a little old).

In all seriousness, let me start off with a quote that might help us all get down to the main purpose of this piece that you’re reading:

“When professors give you assignments, make them fun.”-M. Lakey

That’s the motto I’m going to try to maintain throughout this photo essay that I have decided to create as my blog for the remainder of this quarter. Bear with me.

Homework isn’t always fun, and it’s not necessarily supposed to be–it’s a multitude of complex formulas and ideas woven together that we have to decipher and somehow figure out how to apply to our lives.

[Most of us have been doing homework for over the last 15 years, so that’s not really news.]

But taking that idea and using this as not only a creative outlet, but also as something that I can look back on and use as an opportunity to learn about myself and grow as a person, is my primary goal.

So, welcome to the “Journey through Mac’s life” photo/essay/blog.

For the next five or six weeks I’ll be posting a new photo series that might give everyone some sort of insight into my life and the daily struggles and victories I experience.

They will probably look similar to how you see life through your own lenses, but by capturing something in the moment without staging it or using a filter on it I hope to catch some of the more raw moments of my life and use them as learning tools.

But we can’t move forward without first looking at what built the foundation of today, so let’s rewind to last fall when this school year started:

October

In October I had the honor and pleasure of being able to travel with some of the best digital journalism majors at CWU. I might be slightly biased (since they’re not only my staff but also my friends), but they have proven time and again that they are deserving of recognition.

While in Washington D.C. for the ACP National College Media Convention, we not only explored a part of the nation that I never believed I’d see so soon in my life, but we brought home hardware for “Best of Show.” This trip started off my first quarter as “Boss” in a fashion that I would have never expected.

November

The next month wasn’t any less exciting, as we dove into the paper more and began coverage of more events. I finally got the chance to photograph two of my fellow Wildcats and friends doing what they love most–perform.

Photographing the CWU Theatre Ensemble for the Broadway Red Curtain Revue was by far a highlight of the month.

Thanksgiving break was up there as well in terms of excitement, and it’s only fair to introduce Lily, my fur child, early on in this series (hence the last photo).

December

Winter finally decided to go into full-effect and dump snow on Snoqualmie Pass within the first week of break. An impromptu trip to Seattle led to a couple scary drives over the pass, a handful of great photographs and dozens of lasting memories.

Christmas approached all too quickly after that and I found myself thrust back into my hometown and wayward routine of struggling to find ways to entertain myself. All of which led to a few walks around town in the bitter temperatures and ended with spending the majority of my time with my favorite little ones.

January

A new year, a new president and new opportunities have all presented themselves in just the past four weeks. Not only have I entirely submerged myself in covering theatre events, but I’ve also started to carve out time to get to know my camera better–and have fun while doing it.

 

Although each of these photos is only a small slice of the life and enjoyment that I have had the pleasure of experiencing in the past few months, I’m excited for the challenges that lie ahead.

So welcome, and I hope you enjoy what you see over the next few weeks.

Winter quarter, here we go.

Leave a Reply

